RBI established a Public Debt office at UP Mini Secretariat, Lucknow in 1953-54 for payment of compensation to the Zamindars under the Provisions of UP Zamindari Abolition Act. The erstwhile Agricultural Credit Department was then established in Lucknow in 1955 and was housed in Shah Nazaf Road. Lucknow Office started functioning as a sub-office of Issue Department, Reserve Bank of India, Kanpur from December 01, 1981 for the limited purpose of cancellation/verification and destruction of soiled notes. After establishment of NABARD, Rural Planning and Credit Department (RPCD) started functioning at this centre. Lucknow office has the largest RPCD in the country have jurisdiction over 7 RRBs and 75 districts in the state of Uttar Pradesh. The office is having supervisory departments such as DBS and UBD and other departments viz HRMD, ID, DAD, DIT, Estate Department, DEPR, DSIM, Rajbhasa Cell, Legal Cell and CES. The Legal Cell also attends legal matters of Kanpur and Dehradun offices. This is the only office having six CVPS machines.

The Lucknow office had gained its independent status since September 2006 and is headed by Regional Director.

The new office complex is situated at 8-9 Vipin Khand, Gomti Nagar, Lucknow. It compromise of two buildings, main office building with a built up area of 99,000 sq.ft. accommodating various departments and an Annexe Building. The land scape of the building stands out as one of the best designed in the city. It also houses a herbal garden having various medicinal plants.

Shri R. Lakshmi Kanth Rao is the Regional Director and may be contacted at-

Postal Address Reserve Bank of India,
8-9 Vipin Khand, Gomtinagar,
Telephone 0522-2307950
Fax 0522-2307960
Working hours Weekdays : 9.30 am to 5.15 pm
(Saturday and Sunday is closed)